Tags

, , , , , , , ,

pleading
So I Ask Again

Now don’t go overreacting, don’t think I’ve turned back the hands of time
don’t read more into this poetry than you’ve read in any rhyme
don’t find a cosmic question in one man’s frailty
I simply pose the question that my conscience keeps asking me:

When did we stop trying, when was it all too much?
there’s no use in denying that we both simply lost touch.
I made so many vows of forever love, and still that is my goal
so how can I justify the ending, was I victim or a fool?

When did we stop trying, our love seemed so so strong.
Did we kid ourselves in our strength, or did we simply hold on too long
did we not know what we wanted, and simply “changed our mind”?
was our love a short duration product, and we just ran out of time?

You see, I don’t have the answer, and if you do you won’t say.
Is the truth somehow locked within you, and I must find another way?
is it simply there is no answer, as what makes gravity?
but if that’s so how can love conquer, when it failed both you and me?

When did we stop trying, when did other’s jump our list?
When did we reprioritize the lips that we would most likely kiss?
What made us stop the effort, that all love and marriage requires?
What made us change our minds to that which we said was our desire?

when did we stop trying, and what makes us think again
that we can jumpstart loving, in a new relationship when
we do not have the answer to the most basic puzzle of them all
most people fall in love, why did we merely get the fall?

You see, I don’t have the answer, and if you do you won’t say.
Is the truth somehow locked within you, and I must find another way?
is it simply there is no answer, as what makes gravity?
but if that’s so how can love conquer, when it failed both you and me?

I’ve heard that we no longer want to hurt, but there’s no way do avoid it
there’s no way to leave a job unfinished when we both agreed that we should quit
I know my heart and how I feel, but I admit I don’t understand
how love can exist in your heart when you chose another man.

so I ask again

When did we stop trying, when was it more than we could take?
Is it a goal line we stopped on, or a reality no one can make?
for all the reasons we justify, the brutal truth is simply this.
when our pair of lips drew close enough, we simply choose not to kiss.

so what made your lips irresistable, and now something I can pass
what made me cute and desirable, and now just another ass
I learned I can’t trust my feelings, when my feelings concern you
for what I feel you feel about me, are not feelings you let shine through.

So I ask again

so when did we both stop trying, or better yet, a reason why?
were tears that fall in loneliness worth less than the divorcing tears we cried?
The lynchpin to our love it seemed was the feeling we were wanted.
and in all those years together our search continued, we still hunted –

but you were wanted and loved, with as much as one man can
and we had two different roles to fill, so I don’t understand
we each chose a path to our future, but forget along the way
to stay in touch, communicate, and ran out of things to say

so now that door to us is shut, you’ve seemed to banish me
and keep me out when all I want is to communicate effectively
and in the dreams that dashed ashore we find there nothing left,
it’s hard to realize that dreams leave nothing when you give your dream your best.

so off you go a woman, and off I go a man
two broken hearts forever wandering – mere chance or cosmic plan?
and I’ll be plagued with that simple question that will haunt me throughout time
if you can take and hold another’s hand, why could you not hold onto mine?

