Tags

, , , ,

melody

Play Me A Melody

Play me a melody to the words I’ve written
Play something to laugh about to the tears that I’ve cried
Play me a foot stomping tune I would die for
A tune for the eulogy for the dreams I’ve let die

Play me a rhythm to match my heartbeat
weave the sounds of the birds in the morn
give me a song to put wings on my lyrics
to set them free from the rags I have worn

Oh please….
Before I go.

Give me some harmony to pass the time with
play something I might hear at the playground or park
Give me a song I will play on the radio
To help me forget the fatigue when I walk

Oh please…
Before I go.

I’m going too far to come back for you darling.
And I can’t be certain you’ll follow someday.
Memories fade and the words that I’ve written.

Will lose all their meaning if you refuse to play…
So play…. With all your heart please just play.

Play me a melody to the words I’ve written
Play something to laugh about to the tears that I’ve cried
Play me a foot stomping tune I would die for
A tune for the eulogy for the dreams I’ve let die

Play me a rhythm to match my hearbeat
weave the sounds of the birds in the morn
give me a song to put wings on my lyrics
to set them free from the rags I have worn

Oh please….
Before I go.

