Tags

, , , , , , ,

genetics

Why Bother With Genetics?

Why bother with genetics, why determine that should be,
that which makes me your father and makes you a son to me?
Why bother with fidelity, why bother with the shame?
Why place your loving mother in a place of so much blame?

I have held you as an infant, I have given you my name,
I have entrusted my hopes and dreams in you and I hoped you’d do the same
We have walked into a forest, we have picnicked among trees.
At no time were our chromosomes required to share a breeze.

I have helped you with homework assignments,
I have lead your cub scout troop.
I have baked your favorite birthday cake,
not for your genes, but simply for you.

I am not burdened with loving you, my son, I am not challenged at the thought.
I am not torn between a “should or shouldn’t”, I willingly give you all I’ve got.
Perhaps the facts are just illusion, and not really what should be.
But you’ve been my son all your life, and that is my entire reality.

Why bother with genetics, why determine that should be,
that which makes me your father and makes you a son to me?
I would love you no matter what now.  I will just watch me go.
You are my son regardless of flesh and blood. And that’s all I need to know.

