Tags

,

a handshake

I Live In a Colorless World

I live in a colorless world,
my friends are neither black or white.
They are friends or they aren’t, and that’s all that they are.
And for us we think we’ve gotten it right.

I live in a colorless world.
Where we focus on poverty instead.
We don’t cite those statistics that define us by race.
We don’t go where the racists have led.

I live in a colorless world.
Where you are an equal to me.
And we succeed or we fail on our own merits and strengths,
and we believe that this is how our world should be.

I live in a colorless world.
But there are reasons why so few do the same.
For the failures and challeges we might face in our lives.
We have nobody but ourselves left to blame.

I live in a colorless world.
And there is nobody here I can hate.
We all appear to my senses to be just like the others,
only our minds differ, which is great for debate.

I live in a colorless world
And its so easy for you to join me here too.
Replace black or white with “colorless” in each news article you read.
It’s simple.  But we still number so few.

I live in a colorless world.
It’s the world we were born to you see.
All the differences we learned are just skin deep after all.
We are still all one humanity.

I live in a colorless world.
For what is the color of my soul?
I prefer to see similarities than differences in my fellow man.
And, my brethren, that should be all our goal.

