Tags

,

a wind

My Soul’s Unrest

The wind is blowing every day, but no longer do I mind it.
I think happiness is lost to me and I hope someday to find it.
I form emotions from the TV strings that jerk my heart around.
Though it’s a quiet room I write this in, I’m hearing every sound.

We were born to this planet naked, but we are shamed to wearing clothes.
We believe we are personally the best there is, and want no part of those.
We talk about inequality, but we want everything for ourselves.
And collecting all the world’s luxuries, we place them on our shelf.

We each only need a little bit, but we gather more and more.
And point to the power of the government to make us share all with the poor.
We love to tell other’s what to do what we would oppose ourselves.
And collecting all the world’s luxuries, we place them on our shelf.

Have we each made a single difference, or is #letsfixthis our sole contribution.
Have we blamed the government for that, when we are the real solution.
Have we become too bothered by the community where we live?
Has gathering more and more evolved to where we have nothing left to give?

Freedom is just another word for nothing left to lose.
But should we barter freedom, what will be our next excuse?
We treat precious life so casually, and then squander it away.
Believing we need rulers to fix our world and let us play all day.

Trash upon the ground over there, do you bend to pick it up?
Don’t worry who had tossed it there. Too many blame enough.
If you see a homeless person, have you stopped to lend a hand?
Or does the thought of you as homeless force you to take a tougher stand?

We all have fears and hopes and loves, and this is my soul’s unrest.
We are so focused on what all others do, we never do our best.
In a land of “see me love me praise me!”, we all believe a fix is near.
so few of us roll up our sleeves, far too few I fear.

The wind is blowing every day, but no longer do I mind it.
I think the world’s hope is getting far away, and I’ll be happy if we find it.
We need each other to fix this world, but we’d rather hate and keep our space.
Love is what is needed most, but it’s not the right time or place.

The wind is blowing every day, but no longer do I mind it.
I think happiness is lost to me and I hope someday to find it.
We’ve created space division distrust, so we can have our space.
Love would cure our souls’ unrest, but it’s not the right time or place.

