Tags

, , , ,

Po-time-to Salad Machine

Unheralded time flows slowly downstream
My journey is well on it’s way.
At 58 years, so much has happened to me.
But a funny thing happened today.

A potato salad from the store ended up in my cart.
I brought it home with me for a meal.
And from the first taste I was swept back in time.
The experience was very surreal.

I could smell the pine forest and feel the warm sun.
And hear buzzing from bugs flying by.
And the taste of that salad from my mom’s loving hands.
For a moment I thought I might cry.

I can picture the paper plate filled to the edges,
Potato salad, chips, deviled eggs,
A burnt hot dog in a bun (oh I loved them that way!)
And yellow mustard dripping onto my leg

Soggy swimsuit and tee shirt and wet sneakers I say
And “scarfed” down the food on my plate.
At that moment of youth I was locked in that moment.
Unbeknownst that wisdom was coming too late.

With the last bite of that morsel, I was back to the present
A man 58 years old and alone.
Still for one fleeting moment I was there with my parents
and we were packing everything up to come home.

When I was young, my attention turned to tomorrow.
Now as a man I find I look backwards far more.
To help me on my quest, I wlll once more buy the best
Po-Time-to Salad Machine from the store.